Council

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 15th June, 2022.

Present: Deputy Mayor (Cllr Jim Beall), Cllr Helen Atkinson, Cllr Louise Baldock, Cllr Pauline Beall, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Evaline Cunningham, Cllr Ian Dalgarno, Cllr Lisa Evans, Cllr Dan Fagan, Cllr Kevin Faulks, Cllr Clare Gamble, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Ray Godwin, Cllr Lynn Hall, Cllr Stefan Houghton, Cllr Barbara Inman, Cllr Niall Innes, Cllr Mohammed Javed, Cllr Eileen Johnson, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Steve Matthews, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr David Minchella, Cllr Mick Moore, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Maurice Perry, Cllr Lauriane Povey, Cllr Tony Riordan, Cllr Lee Spence, Cllr Norma Stephenson O.B.E, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Hugo Stratton, Cllr Ted Strike, Cllr Laura Tunney, Cllr Hilary Vickers, Cllr Steve Walmsley, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr Alan Watson, Cllr Sally Ann Watson, Cllr Paul Weston and Cllr Barry Woodhouse.

Officers: Julie Danks (MD), Beccy Brown, Julie Butcher, Peter Bell, Michael Henderson, John Devine (CS), Garry Cummings (F,D&R&DMD), Martin Gray (ChS), Reuben Kench (CS,E&C), Ann Workman (A&H).

Also in attendance: Members of the Public.

Apologies: Cllr Chris Barlow, Cllr Jackie Bright, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Luke Frost, Cllr Tina Large, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr Stephen Richardson, Cllr Andrew Sherris, Cllr Michael Smith, Cllr Marilyn Surtees, Cllr Julie Whitehill and Cllr Bill Woodhead.

C Welcome

24/22

The Worshipful the Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and outlined the arrangements for the meeting.

C Declarations of Interest

25/22

There were no interests declared.

C Minute's Silence – Honorary Alderman Ann Cains 26/22

Members were aware Honorary Alderman Ann Cains had sadly passed away.

Ann was elected to represent the Glebe ward in 1995 and four years later, the Norton West ward when her husband, Dick, was elected to serve the ward alongside her.

She served as Mayor in 2003/04 and also sat on numerous committees including a period as the Chair of Health Select Committee.

Ann retired as a councillor in 2011 and was awarded Honorary Alderman status in September that year.

Members stood in a minute's silence as a mark of respect for Honorary Alderman Ann Cains.

C Minutes

27/22

Consideration was given to the minutes of the meetings held on 23 March and 25 May 2022.

RESOLVED that the minutes of the meetings held on 23 March and 25 May

2022 be confirmed and signed as a correct record.

C Public Question Time 28/22

The Chief Solicitor informed Members that no Public Questions had been received.

C Appointments to Committees and Panels 29/22

At its Annual Meeting, held on Wednesday 26 May 2022, the Council approved the following amendment to its Constitution, relating to the functions of the Health and Wellbeing Board:-

- a. The Leader of the Council was added to the membership of the Board
- b. The Leader of the Council was identified as the chair of the Board

The Council's Constitution requires that the elected members, serving on the Board, are representative of the political proportionality of the Council, as a whole. Given the changes agreed at the Annual Meeting it is necessary to appoint a further member to the Board, from either the Fairfield and Yarm Independent Group, or the Ingleby Barwick Independent Society, to achieve proportionality. Those two groups had been consulted and the following nomination, to the Board, has been received:

Councillor Andrew Sherris

Notification had been received from the Labour Group that it wished to amend its representation on the Local Government Association General Assembly as follows:

Councillor Jim Beall to be replaced by Councillor Lisa Evans

In addition to the above appointments, and following members stepping down from certain positions, the following vacancies had arisen:

Chair of Planning Committee Tees Active Limited Board

The following nominations had been received:-

Chair of Planning Committee:-Councillor Mick Stoker Councillor Steve Matthews

Tees Active Limited Board:-Councillor Jim Beall

Appointment to Achieving Real Change in Communities (ARCC) CIC Board

At the Council meeting on 23 February 2022 Council approved the appointment of Jamie McCann, Director of Community Services, as the Council's representative on the ARCC Board.

Following the recent senior management review, which deleted the Director of Community Services' post, it is necessary to change the Council's representative.

Whilst the delivery of probation services had transferred from ARCC, the business of the company fell within the role of Assistant Director Community Safety and Regulatory Services and a representative on the Board was required until the Company is formally wound up.

Notification had been received, from the Stockton Safer Partnership, that it had amended its Terms of Reference and added the Cabinet Member for Health, Culture and Leisure to its membership.

RESOLVED that:

- 1. Councillor Andrew Sherris be appointed to the Health and Wellbeing Board, for the Municipal Year 2022/23.
- 2. Councillor Lisa Evans replace Cllr Jim Beall on the Local Government Association General Assembly 2022/23.
- 3. Following a vote Councillor Mick Stoker be appointed as the Chair of the Planning Committee.
- 4. Councillor Jim Beall be appointed to the Tees Active Limited Board.
- 5. Marc Stephenson, Assistant Director Community Safety and Regulatory Services, be appointed as the Council's representative on the ARCC Board.
- 6. The Cabinet Member for Health, Leisure and Culture be appointed to the Safer Stockton Partnership.

C Members' Question Time 30/22

The Chief Solicitor informed Members that no Member Questions had been received.

C Forward Plan and Leader's Statement 31/22

The Leader of the Council gave his Forward Plan and Leader's Statement.

Council last met at the annual meeting on the 25th May 2022.

Cabinet would next meet on the 23rd June and then again on the 14th July before Council met again. At these meetings Cabinet was scheduled to consider:

- An update on the 2021-24 Council Plan.
- A report on the final outcome and next steps following the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's electoral review of the Borough.

- The final report of the Children and Young People Select Committee's scrutiny review of child poverty.
- The 2021-22 Medium Term Financial Plan out-turn report
- The Xentrall Annual Report
- A Town Centres update
- A report on the review of the Council's Regulatory Services Enforcement Policy
- The outcome of the People Select Committee's scrutiny review of The Tees Credit Union
- The outcome of the Place Select Committee's scrutiny review of residents parking zones

After that the Leader of the Council looked forward to seeing Members again at next full Council meeting on 20th of July.