Council

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 15th December, 2021.

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor (Cllr Kevin Faulks); Cllr Helen Atkinson, Cllr Louise Baldock, Cllr Chris Barlow, Cllr Jim Beall, Cllr Pauline Beall, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Evaline Cunningham, Cllr Ian Dalgarno, Cllr Lisa Evans, Cllr Luke Frost, Cllr Clare Gamble, Cllr Barbara Inman, Cllr Niall Innes, Cllr Mohammed Javed, Cllr Eileen Johnson, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Tina Large, Cllr Steve Matthews, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr David Minchella, Cllr Mick Moore, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr Stephen Richardson, Cllr Tony Riordan, Cllr Michael Smith, Cllr Norma Stephenson O.B.E, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Hugo Stratton, Cllr Ted Strike, Cllr Marilyn Surtees, Cllr Hilary Vickers, Cllr Steve Walmsley, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr Alan Watson, Cllr Sally Ann Watson, Cllr Paul Weston and Cllr Barry Woodhouse.

Officers: Julie Danks (MD); Margaret Waggott, Nigel Hart, Peter Bell, John Devine, Rachel Harrison (DS); Jonathan Nertney (HR.L&C).

Also in attendance: Members of the Public.

Apologies: Cllr Jackie Bright, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Dan Fagan, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Ray Godwin, Cllr Lynn Hall, Cllr Stefan Houghton, Cllr Maurice Perry, Cllr Lauriane Povey, Cllr Andrew Sherris, Cllr Lee Spence, Cllr Laura Tunney, Cllr Julia Whitehill and Cllr Bill Woodhead MBE.

C Welcome

48/21

The Worshipful the Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and outlined the arrangements for the meeting.

C Declarations of Interest

49/21

There were no interests declared.

C Electoral Review 2020 – Ward Boundary Review – Further Consultation on 50/21 Warding Patterns

Consideration was given to a report on Electoral Review 2020 – Ward Boundary Review – Further Consultation on Warding Patterns.

The Commission had responded to all comments received during their initial consultation on warding patterns and were undertaking further limited consultation on proposal in central and southern Stockton. This included the wards of Bishopsgarth and Elmtree, Fairfield, Grangefield, Newtown, Ingleby, Southern Parishes and Yarm.

Should these revised proposals be adopted it would result in a council size of 57.

The Commission had confirmed that they were satisfied with the evidence received for the rest of the Borough and did not require any further evidence or comments.

The results from this consultation were summarised in an appendix to the report.

The deadline for submission of comments as part of this consultation ended on 10 January 2022 and comments could be submitted direct to LGBC via their website. Local Government Boundary Commission for England Consultation

Portal.

The Commission's Final Recommendations would be agreed and published on the 29th March 2022.

The Final Recommendations would describe the complete set of electoral arrangements, including ward names and locations as well as the number of elected members, alongside parish warding arrangements. These recommendations would be implemented at the next election by means of an Order laid before Parliament.

It was noted that Thornaby Independent Association (TIA) strongly objected to the views of the Electoral Commission. TIA felt that the Boundary Commission had not taken their comments into account. All their original comments and proposals still stood, not only in respect of the annexation of part of the Town of Thornaby-on-Tees into the proposed Ingleby Barwick South ward, but also in connection with the proposals in Mandale and Victoria, Stainsby Hill and Village wards.

RESOLVED that the comments received as part of the consultation on the Local Government Boundary Commission further draft recommendations be noted and they be submitted to the LGBC by the 10 January 2022.