Council

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 26th May, 2021.

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor (Cllr Kevin Faulks), Cllr Helen Atkinson, Cllr Louise Baldock, Cllr Chris Barlow, Cllr Jim Beall, Cllr Pauline Beall, Cllr Jacky Bright, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Evaline Cunningham, Cllr Ian Dalgarno, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Lisa Evans, Cllr Dan Fagan, Cllr Luke Frost, Cllr Clare Gamble, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Ray Godwin, Cllr Lynn Hall, Cllr Stefan Houghton, Cllr Barbara Inman, Cllr Niall Innes, Cllr Mohammed Javed, Cllr Eileen Johnson, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Tina Large, Cllr Steve Matthews, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr David Minchella, Cllr Mick Moore, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr Maurice Perry, Cllr Lauriane Povey, Cllr Stephen Richardson, Cllr Tony Riordan, Cllr Andrew Sherris, Cllr Michael Smith, Cllr Lee Spence, Cllr Norma Stephenson O.B.E, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Hugo Stratton, Cllr Ted Strike, Cllr Marilyn Surtees, Cllr Laura Tunney, Cllr Hilary Vickers, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr Alan Watson, Cllr Sally Ann Watson, Cllr Paul Weston, Cllr Julia Whitehill, Cllr Bill Woodhead MBE, Cllr Barry Woodhouse

Officers: Julie Danks, Margaret Waggott, Nigel Hart, Michael Henderson, Peter Bell (MD), Beccy Brown, Julie Butcher (HR, L&C).

Also in attendance: None.

Apologies: Cllr Steve Walmsley.

C Evacuation Procedure

1/21

The Managing Director outlined the evacuation procedure.

C Civic Welcome

2/21

The Worshipful the Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting

C Appointment of The Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 3/21 2021/2022

Moved by Councillor Ken Dixon, seconded by Councillor Ross Patterson, that Councillor Kevin Faulks be appointed Mayor for the Municipal Year 2021/2022.

RESOLVED that Councillor Kevin Faulks be appointed Mayor for the Municipal Year 2021/2022.

C Return of Thanks for Appointment by The Mayor

4/21

The Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor Kevin Faulks, returned thanks for his appointment and addressed the meeting regarding his ambitions for the year ahead.

C Vote of Thanks to Retired Mayor 5/21

Moved by Councillor Bob Cook, seconded by Councillor Louise Baldock, that a vote of thanks be extended to the retired Mayor and Mayoress for the admirable way in which they had discharged their duties during the term of office.

RESOLVED that thanks be extended to the retired Mayor and Mayoress for the admirable way in which they had discharged their duties during their term of office.

C Address by the Retired Mayor 6/21

The retired Mayor addressed the meeting to reflect on his year in office and the charities he had supported.

C Appointment of the Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 7/21 2021/2022

Moved by Councillor Ken Dixon, seconded by The Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor Kevin Faulks, that Councillor Ross Patterson be appointed Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2021/2022.

RESOLVED that Councillor Ross Patterson be appointed Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2021/2022.

C Return of Thanks for Appointment by the Deputy Mayor 8/21

The Deputy Mayor returned thanks for his appointment.

C Meetings of Council 9/21

RESOLVED that meetings of the Council being held at 6.00pm (except where otherwise stated) during the Municipal Year on the following dates:-

14 July 2021

22 September 2021

24 November 2021

26 January 2022

23 February 2022 (MTFP)

23 March 2022

25 May 2022 (Annual Meeting - 11.00 am)

C Announcement of Cabinet Members for 2021 - 2022 10/21

The Leader of the Council had distributed a copy of his Annual Report that detailed the achievements of the Council during 2021-2022.

The Leader of the Council outlined that Members and Officers could be proud of what had been achieved.

The Leader of the Council announced his Cabinet for the Municipal Years 2021-2022:-

Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Health, Leisure and Culture - Councillor Jim Beall

Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care - Councillor Ann McCoy Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Housing - Councillor Nigel Cooke Cabinet Member for Children and Young People - Councillor Lisa Evans Cabinet Member for Access, Communities and Community Safety - Councillor Steve Nelson

Cabinet Member for Environment and Transport - Councillor Mike Smith

C Announcement of Assistant Cabinet Members for 2021 - 2022

11/21

Assistant Cabinet Member for Environment and Transport - Councillor Norma Stephenson

Assistant Cabinet Member for Health, Leisure and Culture - Councillor Clare Gamble

C Appointments to Committees, Panels and Joint Bodies 12/21 for the 2021 - 2023 Municipal Years

See attached Word version of the minutes.

C Councillors' Corporate Parenting Pledge

13/21

The Worshipful the Mayor and the Leader of the Council signed the Corporate Parenting Pledge on behalf of the Council accepting all Members role as Corporate Parents.

C Council's Constitution

14/21

Council was invited to approve the Council's Constitution. Members had been provided with a link to the Constitution.

RESOLVED that the Council's Constitution be agreed.

C Civic Ceremonial Exchange

15/21

A slideshow was shown of an exchange of ceremonial civic gifts between previous and present incoming and outgoing Mayor.

C Closure of the Meeting

16/21

The Worshipful the Mayor closed the meeting.