Council

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 24th June, 2020.

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor (Cllr Lynn Hall); Cllr Helen Atkinson, Cllr Louise Baldock, Cllr Chris Barlow, Cllr Jim Beall, Cllr Pauline Beall, Cllr Jacky Bright, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Chris Clough, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Evaline Cunningham, Cllr Ian Dalgarno, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Lisa Evans, Cllr Kevin Faulks, Cllr Luke Frost, Cllr Clare Gamble, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Tony Hampton, Cllr Stefan Houghton, Cllr Barbara Inman, Cllr Mohammed Javed, Cllr Eileen Johnson, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr David Minchella, Cllr Mick Moore, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr Maurice Perry, Cllr Lauriane Povey, Cllr Stephen Richardson, Cllr Tony Riordan, Cllr Andrew Sherris, Cllr Michael Smith, Cllr Norma Stephenson O.B.E, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Ted Strike, Cllr Marilyn Surtees, Cllr Hilary Vickers, Cllr Matthew Vickers, Cllr Steve Walmsley, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr Alan Watson, Cllr Sally Ann Watson, Cllr Paul Weston, Cllr Julia Whitehill, Cllr Bill Woodhead MBE and Cllr Barry Woodhouse.

Officers: Julie Danks (MD); Margaret Waggott, Nigel Hart, Michael Henderson, Sarah Whaley, Peter Bell (DS); Jonathan Nertney (HR,L&C).

Also in attendance: None.

Apologies: Cllr Julie Cherrett, Cllr Ray Godwin, Cllr Tina Large, Cllr Andrew Stephenson and Cllr Laura Tunney.

1 Welcome and the arrangements for the Meeting

The Managing Director welcomed everyone to the meeting and outlined the arrangements for the meeting.

2 Appointment of The Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2020/2021

Moved by Councillor Louise Baldock, seconded by Councillor Bob Cook, that Councillor Mohammed Javed be elected Mayor for the Municipal Year 2020/2021.

RESOLVED that Councillor Mohammed Javed be elected Mayor for the Municipal Year 2020/2021.

3 Appointment of the Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2020/2021

Moved by Councillor Ken Dixon, seconded by Councillor Ross Patterson, that Councillor Kevin Faulks be elected Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2020/2021.

RESOLVED that Councillor Kevin Faulks be elected Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2020/2021.

4 Announcement of Cabinet Members for 2020 - 2021

The Leader of the Council announced his Cabinet for the Municipal Year 2020 - 2021:-

Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Health, Leisure and Culture - Councillor Jim Beall

Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care - Councillor Ann McCoy Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Housing - Councillor Nigel Cooke Cabinet Member for Children and Young People - Councillor Lisa Evans Cabinet Member for Access, Communities and Community Safety - Councillor Steve Nelson

Cabinet Member for Environment and Transport - Councillor Mike Smith

5 Announcement of Assistant Cabinet Members for 2020 - 2021

The Leader of the Council announced his Assistant Cabinet Members for the Municipal Years 2019 - 2020:-

Councillor Louise Baldock Councillor Clare Gamble Councillor Norma Stephenson

The portfolios for the Assistant Cabinet Members would be assigned to them at a later date.

6 Amendments and Appointments for the 2020 - 2023 Municipal Years

RESOLVED that the following amendments to Committees, Board and Outside Bodies and appointment of Chair and Vice Chair for the 2020 - 2023 Municipal Years be approved:-

Amendments to Committees

People Select Committee:-

Remove Councillor Mick Moore Add Councillor Sylvia Walmsley Remove Councillor Mohammed Javed Add Councillor Marilyn Surtees

Corporate Parenting Board:-

Remove Councillor Sylvia Walmsley Add Councillor Mick Moore

Cleveland Police and Crime Panel:-

Remove Councillor Matthew Vickers Add Councillor Tony Riordan.

Executive Scrutiny Committee:-

Remove Councillor Matthew Vickers Add Councillor Tony Riordan.

Cleveland Fire Authority:-

Remove Councillor Andrew Stephenson Add Councillor Lynn Hall.

Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair

People Select Committee:-

Remove Councillor Jean O'Donnell as Chair Add – Councillor Marilyn Surtees as Chair

People Select Committee:-

Remove - Councillor Mohammed Javed as Vice Chair Add - Councillor Jean O'Donnell as Vice Chair

It was noted that, in agreeing a new Chair of a Select Committee, Council was also agreeing that the appointed member replaced the outgoing Chair, as an ordinary member, of the Executive Scrutiny Committee i.e. the Chairs of each Select Committee automatically take a seat on Executive Scrutiny Committee.

7 Meetings of Council

RESOLVED that meetings of the Council be held at 6.00pm (except where otherwise stated) during the Municipal Year 2020/2021 on the following dates:-

22 July 2020

23 September 2020

18 November 2020

27 January 2021

24 February 2021 (Special - Budget)

24 March 2021

26 May 2021 (Annual Meeting - 11.00 am)

8 Councillors' Corporate Parenting Pledge

The Worshipful the Mayor signed the Corporate Parenting Pledge on behalf of the Council accepting all Members role as Corporate Parents.