### Council

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 29th January, 2020.

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor (Cllr Lynn Hall), Cllr Helen Atkinson, Cllr Louise Baldock, Cllr Chris Barlow, Cllr Jim Beall, Cllr Pauline Beall, Cllr Jacky Bright, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Evaline Cunningham, Cllr Ian Dalgarno, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Lisa Evans, Cllr Kevin Faulks, Cllr Luke Frost Cllr Stefan Houghton, Cllr Barbara Inman, Cllr Mohammed Javed, Cllr Eileen Johnson, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Tina Large, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr David Minchella, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr Maurice Perry, Cllr Lauriane Povey, Cllr Stephen Richardson, Cllr Tony Riordan, Cllr Andrew Sherris, Cllr Michael Smith, Cllr Norma Stephenson O.B.E, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Ted Strike, Cllr Marilyn Surtees, Cllr Hilary Vickers, Cllr Matthew Vickers, Cllr Steve Walmsley, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr Alan Watson, Cllr Sally Ann Watson, Cllr Paul Weston, Cllr Julia Whitehill, Cllr Bill Woodhead MBE and Cllr Barry Woodhouse.

Officers: Julie Danks (MD), Beccy Brown, Jonathan Nertney (HR,L&C), Garry Cummings (F&BS), Martin Gray (CS), Jamie McCann (DNS), Peter Bell (DS).

Also in attendance: Netanya Alwis (Big Committee), Members of the public.

**Apologies:** Cllr Julia Cherrett, Cllr Chris Clough, Cllr Clare Gamble, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Ray Godwin, Cllr Tony Hampton, Cllr Mick Moore, Cllr Andrew Stephenson and Cllr Laura Tunney.

## C Welcome and Evacuation Procedure 66/19

The Worshipful the Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and the evacuation procedure was noted.

## C Declarations of Interest 67/19

Councillor Steve Nelson declared a personal non prejudicial interest in respect of agenda item 3 - Nominations for the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen as he is married to Kathryn Nelson who was named within the report.

# C Nominations for the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen 68/19

Council was asked to give consideration to the appointment of Honorary Aldermen status to the following former long serving Councillors in accordance with Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972:-

- Kathryn Nelson
- Paul Baker

Under Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972 a principal Council may, by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of Members in attendance and voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members, but who are not current Members of the Council.

The Act indicated that service with predecessor Authorities would count as service to be taken into account when conferring the honour.

Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council had agreed that reckonable service for the purpose of conferring this title should be at least 16 years and should take into account factors such as the nominees previous attendance at Council / Committee meetings; and/or contribution the individual had made to the

#### Council.

Nominations had been received in respect of the following nominees, who satisfied the terms of the above criteria:-

Kathryn Nelson - 1999-2019 - 20 years' service Paul Baker - 1999-2019 - 20 years' service

Both nominees were former Mayors of the Borough, with Kathryn Chair of the Licensing Committee from 2000-2007 and then later Vice Chair from 2007-2019. Kathryn also served on a number of Committees, including Arts, Leisure & Culture Select, Executive Scrutiny Committee, Audit Committee and Employee Appeals Panel; the latter of which she was Vice Chair from 2007-2015.

Paul served on Cabinet from 2000-2002 and was Chair of the Crime & Disorder Select Committee for 2015/16 and Vice Chair of the Appeals & Complaints Committee from 2007-2008. He was also a member of the Adult Services & Health Select Committee, Health Select Committee, Housing & Community Safety Select Committee and Standards Committee.

Whilst attendance details were not recorded for their full term of office, the records that were available from the period 2006-2019 reveal that each attended 72% and 79% of their respective meetings.

### RESOLVED that:-

- 1. The title of Honorary Alderman be given to:-
- Kathryn Nelson
- Paul Baker
- 2. Kathryn Nelson and Paul Baker and their guest be invited to attend a future meeting of Council to participate in a ceremony during which the title will be conferred.