Council

A meeting of Council was held on Tuesday, 5th March, 2019.

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor (Cllr Eileen Johnson), Cllr Helen Atkinson, Cllr Sonia Bailey, Cllr Louise Baldock, Cllr Chris Barlow, Cllr Derrick Brown, Cllr Julia Cherrett, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Chris Clough, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Gillian Corr, Cllr Evaline Cunningham, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Kevin Faulks, Cllr Lynn Hall, Cllr Tony Hampton, Cllr David Harrington, Cllr Di Hewitt, Cllr Barbara Inman, Cllr Mohammed Javed, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr Mrs Kathryn Nelson, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Maurice Perry, Cllr Lauriane Povey, Cllr Paul Rowling, Cllr Michael Smith, Cllr Norma Stephenson O.B.E, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Matthew Vickers, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr Sally Ann Watson, Cllr David Wilburn, Cllr Norma Wilburn, Cllr Bill Woodhead MBE and Cllr Barry Woodhouse.

Officers: Neil Schneider (CEX), Julie Danks, Margaret Waggott, Peter Bell (DCE), Garry Cummings (F&BS), Beccy Brown, Jonathan Nertney (HR, L&C), Richard McGuckin (E,G&D), Jamie McCann (CS), Ann Workman (AH); Reuben Kench (CL&E).

Also in attendance: Members of the Public.

Apologies: Cllr Paul Baker, Cllr Jim Beall, Cllr Ian Dalgarno, Cllr Phil Dennis, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Lisa Grainge, Cllr Elsi Hampton, Cllr Mick Moore, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr Andrew Stephenson, Cllr Tracey Stott, Cllr Laura Tunney, Cllr Paul Weston and Julia Whitehill.

C Welcome and Evacuation Procedure

90/18

The Worshipful the Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and the evacuation procedure was noted.

C Declarations of Interest

91/18

There were no declarations of interest.

C Public Question Time

92/18

The Chief Solicitor informed Members that no Public Questions had been received.

C Members' Question Time

93/18

The Chief Solicitor informed Members that no Members' Questions had been received.

C Customer Service Awards – Civic Recognition 94/18

At a previous Council meeting Members unanimously supported a motion supporting Council staff. The Customer Service Awards was for Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council staff who had been a shining example of outstanding customer service.

The Worshipful the Mayor recognised the winners of the Customer Services Awards:-

Team Winners:-

Homelessness & Housing Solutions

Pride of Stockton Award Winners:-David Parker (Street Cleansing Operative) Shaun Pollock (Street Cleansing Operative) Graham McDonald (Assistant Markets Manager)

Extra Mile Winner:-Glen Layfield (Events Team Leader)

Star Employee:-

Jo Bradley (Business Support Manager for Economic Growth and Development)

Special Recognition Award Team Award:-Tees Cuisine Catering Team

Special Recognition Individual Award:-Anita Smith Ceremonies Officer - Registration Services

C Long Service Awards 95/18

The Worshipful the Mayor recognised the contribution of the following long serving staff who had given years of dedicated service by presenting them with a certificate of achievement:-

- Ashley Briggs Senior Capital Projects Officer
- Caroline Pearson-Loughlin Branch Secretary
- Michelle Nightingale One Call Officer
- Penelope Connor Support Worker
- Tony Quantrill Senior Library & Information Assistant
- Tracy Ann Mathews Reablement Support Worker

C Mayor's Civic Awards Scheme 96/18

The Civic Awards provided an opportunity for the Worshipful the Mayor, on behalf of the Borough, to recognise the achievements of individuals and organisations who had made a real difference to the community.

This was the 8th year of the Awards Scheme recognising the contribution people make to the community.

Yet again, the quality of nominations, across all categories, had been exceptional and as a member of the Awards Panel tasked with choosing an overall winner for each of the categories, the Worshipful the Mayor could testify to how difficult it was to choose the winners.

The winners had been invited to the meeting and it was the Worshipful the Mayor's great pleasure to present each in turn with a certificate and their award as a thank you for their achievements.

The Young Persons Award:-Nieve Rusby Service to Community Award – Individuals:-

Megan McCue (Alan's Angel's Charity) Lin Simpson (Royal British Legion) Andrew Westwood (Hardwick Social Football Club) Pete Widlinski (Justice First and Mary Thompson Fund)

Service to Community Award – Groups & Organisations:-Dad's Music – Len Hopkin

Service to Community Award – Business:-Drake the Bookshop Michael Poole Estate Agents

Health and Wellbeing Award:-Eric Whitehouse - At The Hop

Green Award:— Ingleby Barwick Litter Pickers - Cec Logan

Carer/Foster Carer Award:-

- James Leslie
- David Foster

C Mayoral and Group Leaders Address 97/18

The evening was a special occasion as it was the last Council meeting for the Chief Executive, Neil Schneider, before he stepped down from the role.

The Worshipful the Mayor had the privilege of introducing some brief tributes to Neil, acknowledging the fantastic contribution he had made to the Council, the community and to local government as a whole during a career which spanned over nearly four decades almost all of it working for Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council.

In the last eleven years Neil had demonstrated what a great decision his appointment was. In 2017 this was underlined when the Council was shortlisted for local government's three most prestigious 'Council of the Year' awards, which no council had ever achieved before.

The Worshipful the Mayor congratulated Neil on his achievements and outstanding contribution to the Council, the people of the borough and local government.

All Members wished Neil all the very best for his future.

The Group Leaders were given the opportunity address the meeting and acknowledge Neil's fantastic contribution he had made to the Council.

C Lifetime Achievement Award 98/18

The Worshipful the Mayor presented Neil Schneider with a Lifetime Achievement Award recognising the fantastic contribution he had made to the Council, the community and to local government as a whole during his career.