# Council

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 14th March, 2018.

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor (Cllr Maurice Perry); Cllr Helen Atkinson, Cllr Sonia Bailey, Cllr Paul Baker, Cllr Louise Baldock, Cllr Chris Barlow, Cllr Jim Beall, Cllr Derrick Brown, Cllr Julia Cherrett, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Chris Clough, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Gillian Corr, Cllr Evaline Cunningham, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Kevin Faulks, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Lisa Grainge, Cllr Lynn Hall, Cllr Elsi Hampton, Cllr David Harrington, Cllr Stefan Houghton, Cllr Barbara Inman, Cllr Mohammed Javed, Cllr Eileen Johnson, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr Mrs Kathryn Nelson, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr Stephen Richardson, Cllr Paul Rowling, Cllr Andrew Stephenson, Cllr Norma Stephenson O.B.E, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Matthew Vickers, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr Sally Ann Watson, Cllr Paul Weston, Cllr David Wilburn, Cllr Norma Wilburn, Cllr Bill Woodhead MBE and Cllr Barry Woodhouse.

**Officers:** Neil Schneider (CE), Julie Danks, Peter Bell (DCE), Beccy Brown, Jonathan Nertney (HR, L&C), Garry Cummings (F&BS), Richard McGuckin (E,G&D), Jamie McCann (CS), Ann Workman (AH); Reuben Kench (CL&E).

Also in attendance: Members of the public.

**Apologies:** Cllr Ian Dalgarno, Cllr Phil Dennis, Cllr Tony Hampton, Cllr Dianne Hewitt, Cllr Mick Moore, Cllr Lauriane Povey, Cllr Mike Smith, Cllr Tracey Stott, Cllr Marilyn Surtees, Cllr Laura Tunney and Cllr Julia Whitehill.

# 1 Welcome, Evacuation and Recording of the Meeting

The Worshipful the Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and the evacuation procedure was noted. It was also noted that the Governance Officer would be making an audio recording of the meeting to assist in the drafting of minutes of the meeting.

#### 2 Declarations of Interest

There were no interests declared.

## 3 Nomination for the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

Council gave consideration to the posthumous appointment of Honorary Aldermen to Peter Mallinson in accordance with Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Under Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972 a principal Council may, by a resolution pass by not less than two thirds of Members in attendance and voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who had, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members, but who were not current Members of the Council.

The Act indicated that service with predecessor Authorities would count as service to be taken into account when conferring the honour.

Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council had agreed that reckonable service for the purpose of conferring this title should be at least 12 years and had agreed that the honour can be bestowed posthumously.

A nomination had been received in respect of the following nominee, who satisfied the terms of the above criteria:-

Peter Mallinson - 1976 to 1998 - 22 Years

If Members agreed the above nomination, then it was recommended that the title be conferred at a future meeting of Council.

## **RESOLVED** that:-

- 1. The posthumous title of Honorary Alderman be given to Peter Mallinson.
- 2. Elsie Mallinson, the widow of Peter Mallinson and guests be invited to attend a future meeting of Council to participate in a ceremony during which the title will be conferred.