### Council

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 20th December, 2017.

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor (Cllr Maurice Perry); Cllr Helen Atkinson, Cllr Sonia Bailey, Cllr Paul Baker, Cllr Louise Baldock, Cllr Chris Barlow, Cllr Jim Beall, Cllr Derrick Brown, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Chris Clough, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Gillian Corr, Cllr Evaline Cunningham, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Kevin Faulks, Cllr Lisa Grainge, Cllr Lynn Hall, Cllr Elsi Hampton, Cllr Di Hewitt, Cllr Stefan Houghton, Cllr Mohammed Javed, Cllr Eileen Johnson, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr Mick Moore, Cllr Mrs Kathryn Nelson, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr Lauriane Povey, Cllr Norma Stephenson O.B.E, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Marilyn Surtees, Cllr Laura Tunney, Cllr Matthew Vickers, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr Sally Ann Watson, Cllr Paul Weston, Cllr Norma Wilburn, Cllr Bill Woodhead MBE and Cllr Barry Woodhouse.

**Officers:** Neil Schneider (CE), Julie Danks, Peter Bell, Kirsty Wannop (DCE), Beccy Brown, Jonathan Nertney (HR, L&C), Garry Cummings (F&BS), Richard McGuckin (E,G&D), Jamie McCann (CS), Ann Workman (AH); Reuben Kench (CL&E).

Also in attendance: Members of the Public.

**Apologies:** Cllr Julia Cherrett, Cllr Ian Dalgrano, Cllr Phil Dennis, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Tony Hampton, Cllr David Harrington, Cllr Barbara Inman, Cllr Paul Rowling, Cllr Stephen Richardson, Cllr Mike Smith, Cllr Andrew Stephenson, Cllr Tracey Stott, Cllr Julia Whitehill and Cllr David Wilburn.

# C Welcome, Evacuation and Recording of the Meeting 88/17

The Worshipful the Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and the evacuation procedure was noted. It was also noted that the Governance Officer would be making an audio recording of the meeting to assist in the drafting the of minutes of the meeting.

The Worshipful the Mayor also welcomed Councillor Louise Baldock to her first meeting of Council.

## C Declarations of Interest 89/17

There were no interests declared.

# C Nomination for the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen 90/17

Council gave consideration to the posthumous appointment of Honorary Aldermen to Stephen Smailes in accordance with Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Under Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972 a principal Council may, by a resolution pass by not less than two thirds of Members in attendance and voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who had, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members, but who were not current Members of the Council.

The Act indicated that service with predecessor Authorities would count as service to be taken into account when conferring the honour.

Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council had agreed that reckonable service for the purpose of conferring this title should be at least 12 years and had agreed that

the honour can be bestowed posthumously.

Following consideration at Commemoration Working Group on 5 October 2017 a nomination had been received in respect of the following nominees, who satisfied the terms of the above criteria:-

Stephen Smailes - 1967 to 2005 - 38 Years

If Members agreed the above nomination, then it was recommended that the title be conferred at a future meeting of Council.

#### RESOLVED that:-

- 1. The posthumous title of Honorary Alderman be given to Stephen Smailes.
- 2. Marie Smailes, the widow of Stephen Smailes and guests be invited to attend a future meeting of Council to participate in a ceremony during which the title will be conferred.