Council

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 9th March, 2016.

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor (Cllr Ian Dalgarno); Cllr Helen Atkinson, Cllr Sonia Bailey, Cllr Paul Baker, Cllr Chris Barlow, Cllr Derrick Brown, Cllr Julia Cherrett, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Chris Clough, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Gillian Corr, Cllr Evaline Cunningham, Cllr Philip Dennis, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Kevin Faulks, Cllr Lisa Grainge, Cllr Lynn Hall, Cllr Elsi Hampton, Cllr David Harrington, Cllr Di Hewitt, Cllr Ben Houchen, Cllr Barbara Inman, Cllr Eileen Johnson, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr Mick Moore, Cllr Mrs Kathryn Nelson, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Stephen Parry, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr Maurice Perry, Cllr Lauriane Povey, Cllr Rachael Proud, Cllr Paul Rowling, Cllr Michael Smith, Cllr Andrew Stephenson, Cllr Norma Stephenson O.B.E, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Tracey Stott, Cllr Laura Tunney, Cllr Matthew Vickers, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr Sally Ann Watson, Cllr Julia Whitehill, Cllr David Wilburn, Cllr Norma Wilburn, Cllr Barry Woodhouse

Officers: Neil Schneider (CE), Julie Danks, Peter Bell, Jenna McDonald (ACE), Richard McGuckin (EG&D), Beccy Brown (HR,L&C), Jane Humphreys (CS), Garry Cummings (F&BS), Jamie McCann (CS), Reuben Kench (C,L&E), Martin Gray (CS), Peter Kelly (A&H); David Bond (Proper Officer).

Also in attendance: Members of the public.

Apologies: Cllr Jim Beall, Cllr Michael Clark, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Stefan Houghton and Cllr Mohammed Javed.

C Welcome, Evacuation and Recording of the Meeting

93/15

The Worshipful the Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and outlined the procedure for the recording of the meeting.

The evacuation procedure was also noted.

C Declarations of Interest

94/15

There were no interests declared.

C Nominations for the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

95/15

Council was asked to give consideration to the appointment of Honorary Aldermen in accordance with Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Under Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972 a principal Council may, by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of Members in attendance and voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who had, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members, but who were not current Members of the Council.

The Act indicated that service with predecessor Authorities would count as service to be taken into account when conferring the honour.

Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council had agreed that reckonable service for the purpose of conferring this title should be at least 12 years.

Nominations had been received in respect of the following nominees, who satisfied the terms of the above criteria:-

Marjorie Galloway MBE 1973 – 1987 – Stockton on Tees Borough Council - 14 Years' Service Keith Leonard 1995 – 2007 - Stockton on Tees Borough Council - 12 Years' Service

If Members agreed the above nominations, then it was recommended that the title be conferred on the nominees at the Annual Council meeting on the 6th April 2016.

RESOLVED that

1. The title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the former Councillors:-

- Marjorie Galloway MBE
- Keith Leonard

2. The above named and a guest be invited to attend the Annual Meeting of Council on the 6th April 2016 to participate in a ceremony during which the title will be conferred.