# Council

# A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 28th October, 2015.

**Present:** The Worshipful the Mayor (Cllr Ian Dalgarno), Cllr Helen Atkinson, Cllr Sonia Bailey, Cllr Chris Barlow, Cllr Jim Beall, Cllr Derrick Brown, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Michael Clark, Cllr Chris Clough, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Gillian Corr, Cllr Evaline Cunningham, Cllr Philip Dennis, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Kevin Faulks, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Lisa Grainge, Cllr Lynn Hall, Cllr Elsi Hampton, Cllr David Harrington, Cllr Di Hewitt, Cllr Stefan Houghton, Cllr Barbara Inman, Cllr Mohammed Javed, Cllr Eileen Johnson, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr Mrs Kathryn Nelson, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Stephen Parry, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr Maurice Perry, Cllr Lauriane Povey, Cllr Rachael Proud, Cllr David Rose, Cllr Paul Rowling, Cllr Andrew Stephenson, Cllr Norma Stephenson O.B.E, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Laura Tunney, Cllr Matthew Vickers, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr Sally Ann Watson, Cllr David Wilburn, Cllr Norma Wilburn, Cllr Bill Woodhead and Cllr Barry Woodhouse.

**Officers:** N Schneider (CE); J Danks, B Brown, L King (R); P Dobson (DNS); P Kelly (PH); D E Bond, P K Bell, K Wannop, N Hart (LD).

#### Also in attendance: Members of the public.

Apologies: Cllr Paul Baker, Cllr Julia Cherrett, Cllr Ben Houchen, Cllr Mick Moore, Cllr Mike Smith, Cllr Tracey Stott and Cllr Julia Whitehill.

## C Welcome Evacuation and Recording of the Meeting

53/15

The Worshipful the Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and outlined the procedure for the recording of the meeting.

The evacuation procedure was also noted.

#### C Declarations of Interest

54/15

Councillor Cunningham declared a personal non prejudicial interest in respect of agenda item 4 - Nominations for the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen as her husband was named on the nominations list.

## **C** Nominations for the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

55/15

Council was asked to give consideration to the appointment of Honorary Aldermen in accordance with Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Under Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972 a principal Council may, by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of Members in attendance and voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who had, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members, but who were not current Members of the Council.

The Act indicated that service with predecessor Authorities would count as service to be taken into account when conferring the honour.

Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council had agreed that reckonable service for the purpose of conferring this title should be at least 12 years.

Nominations had been received in respect of the following nominees, who satisfied the terms of the above criteria:-

Name - Alex Cunningham Terms of Service - 1984 - 1997 Cleveland County Council and 1999 - 2010 Stockton on Tees Borough Council Cumulative Years' Service - (Total 24)

Name - Jeremy Atkinson Terms of Service - 1989 – 1995 Cleveland County Council and 1995 - 2003 Stockton on Tees Borough Council Cumulative Years' Service - (Total 14)

If Members agreed the above nominations, then it was recommended that the title be conferred on the nominees at the Council meeting on the 25th November 2015.

#### **RESOLVED** that

1. The title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the former Councillors:-

- Alex Cunningham
- Jeremy Atkinson

2. The above named and a guest be invited to attend the meeting of Council on the 25th November 2015 to participate in a ceremony during which the title will be conferred.