BCE Revised Proposals – October 2012

Stockton-on-Tees Administrative Area

- 1. Hartlepool, Stockton-on-Tees, Redcar and Middlesbrough have been considered together with the area of County Durham when formulating the revised proposals for these areas. The full details of the proposals are attached.
- 2. Blackhalls ward has been included in the proposed Hartlepool constituency, instead of the Billingham North Ward.
- A proposed Stockton and Billingham constituency will include ten wards from the existing Stockton North Constituency, together with Sedgefield ward, and the wards of Aycliffe East, Aycliffe North, and Aycliffe west, and the new constituency will be called Stockton North and Aycliffe.

Stockton South Constituency

- 4. There will be a constituency comprising nine of the wards of the current Stockton South constituency, and four wards from Stockton North. It will be called Stockton South constituency.
- 5. This constituency will include only Stockton-on-Tees wards, being the wards of:-

Bishopsgarth

Eaglescliffe

Fairfield

Grangefield

Hartburn

Ingleby Barwick East

Ingleby Barwick West

Parkfield and Oxbridge

Yarm

Western Parishes

Newtown

Stockton Town Centre

Hardwick

Stockton North and Aycliffe Constituency

6. This constituency will include 14 wards, ten of which will be Stockton-on-Tees wards:-

Billingham North

Billingham Central

Billingham South

Billingham East

Billingham West

Northern Parishes

Norton North

Norton South

Norton West

Roseworth

Sedgefield

Aycliffe East

Aycliffe North

Aycliffe West

- 7. The Annex to the Commission report which details the revised proposals, shows both proposed Stockton Constituencies as County, rather than Borough Constituencies, notwithstanding that of the 73,391 electorate in Stockton North and Aycliffe, 56,345 are Stockton Borough electors, and that all of the electorate in the Stockton South Constituency are Stockton Borough electors.
- 8. The Thornaby wards of Mandale and Victoria, Stainsby Hill and Village will be included in a new Middlesbrough constituency, called Middlesbrough.