Council

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 4th April, 2012.

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor (Cllr Paul Baker); Cllr Mrs Lynne Apedaile, Cllr Jim Beall, Cllr Derrick Brown, Cllr Julia Cherrett, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Michael Clark, Cllr David Coleman, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Gillian Corr, Cllr Evaline Cunningham, Cllr Phillip Dennis, Cllr Kevin Faulks, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Robert Gibson, Cllr David Harrington, Cllr Barbara Inman, Cllr Eileen Johnson, Cllr Elliot Kennedy, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Terry Laing, Cllr Miss Tina Large, Cllr Colin Leckonby, Cllr Alan Lewis, Cllr Ken Lupton, Cllr Ray McCall, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr Mrs Kathryn Nelson, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr David Rose, Cllr Andrew Sherris, Cllr Michael Smith, Cllr Norma Stephenson, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Tracey Stott, Cllr Steve Walmsley, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr David Wilburn, Cllr Norma Wilburn, Cllr Mrs Mary Womphrey and Cllr Mick Womphrey.

Officers: N Schneider (CE); D E Bond, M Waggott, N Hart, M Henderson, P K Bell (LD).

Also in attendance: Invited guests and dignitaries.

Apologies: Cllr Mark Chatburn, Cllr Ian Dalgarno, Cllr Mick Eddy, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Ben Houchen, Cllr Mohammed Javed, Cllr Jean Kirby, Cllr Maureen Rigg, Cllr Andrew Stephenson, Cllr Bill Woodhead and Cllr Barry Woodhouse.

C Evacuation Procedures

1/12

The Chief Executive advised all present of the premises evacuation procedures in the event of an emergency.

C Civic Welcome

2/12

The Worshipful the Mayor addressed the meeting by way of civic welcome.

C Former Councillor Maurice Frankland

3/12

Members stood in a minute's silence as a mark of respect for former Councillor Maurice Frankland.

C Award of Alderman Badge

4/12

The Worshipful the Mayor presented Honorary Alderman Badges to former Councillors Mrs Jennie Beaumont, Mr John Fletcher and Mrs Suzanne Fletcher.

The Council would award all current Honorary Aldermen and all future Honorary Aldermen with the badge.

C Mayor's Civic Awards Scheme

5/12

The Worship the Mayor had during his year as Mayor introduced a Civic Awards Scheme to recognise the achievements of people who had made a real difference to the community.

The following winners were presented with the Mayor's Civic Award:-

Young Persons Award - Young Carers Aloud - Tracey Hamilton (Manager of Eastern Ravens Trust, Claire Ambrosini (Support Worker) and Starr Wilson, Natalie Tait, Connor Davies and Jake Thomson were in attendance to collect the award on behalf of Young Carers Aloud.

Services to the Community Award - Mike McGrother - Ambassador and promoter of the Borough - Mike McGrother was in attendance at the meeting to collect the award.

The Green Award - Durham Lane Primary School - Mrs Karen Brown (volunteer for the Eco Team) and her two children – Kirsty and Marcus Brown, (members of the Eco Team) were in attendance to collect the award.

Carer / Foster Carer Award - Maria Catterick who had looked after 18 children over the last 8 years. Maria Catterick was in attendance at the meeting to collect the award.

C Presentation to Mayor's Charities 6/12

The Worshipful the Mayor presented cheques to the following charities that he had supported during his year as Mayor:-

Royal British Legion Butterwick Hospice

C Presentation of Silver Salver to Retiring Deputy Mayor 7/12

On behalf of the Council, the Worshipful the Mayor presented a silver salver to the retiring Deputy Mayor for her services during 2011/2012.

C Appointment of The Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2012/2013

Moved by Councillor Leckonby, seconded by Councillor Walmsley, that Councillor Apedaile be elected Mayor for the Municipal Year 2012/2013.

RESOLVED that Councillor Apedaile be elected Mayor for the Municipal Year 2012/2013.

C Return of Thanks for Appointment by The Mayor

9/12

The Worshipful the Mayor returned thanks for her appointment and addressed the meeting regarding her ambitions for the year ahead.

C Vote of Thanks to Retired Mayor 10/12

Moved by Councillor Cook, seconded by Councillor Beall, that a vote of thanks be extended to the retired Mayor for the admirable way in which he had discharged his duties during his term of office.

RESOLVED that thanks be extended to the retired Mayor for the admirable way in which he had discharged his duties during his term of office.

C Presentation of Medallion and Commemorative Album to the Retired 11/12 Mayor

The Worshipful the Mayor presented the Retired Mayor with a Medallion and Commemorative Album.

C Address by the Retired Mayor 12/12

The retired Mayor addressed the meeting to reflect on his year in office and the charities he had supported.

C Appointment of the Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 13/12 2012/2013

Moved by Councillor Mrs McCoy, seconded by Councillor Kirton, that Councillor Mrs Nelson be elected Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2012/2013.

RESOLVED that Councillor Mrs Nelson be elected Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2012/2013.

C Return of Thanks for Appointment by Deputy Mayor 14/12

The Deputy Mayor returned thanks for her appointment.

C Presentation of Floral Arrangements

15/12

Floral arrangements were presented to the Mayor and the Deputy Mayor.

C Presentation of Bible to the Mayor by the Mayor's Chaplain 16/12

The Chaplin (Reverend Alan Farish) presented a copy of the Bible to the Worshipful the Mayor.

C Announcement of Cabinet 17/12

The Leader of the Council thanked all the officers who had made the smooth transition to the new executive arrangements and the new leadership for the past year.

The Leader of the Council distributed a copy of his Annual Report that outlined the achievements of the Council from April 2011 to April 2012.

The Leader of the Council outlined that Members and Officers could be proud of what had been achieved over the past year. The Council started the new year with major challenges from a tough economic climate and significant funding pressures. The Council needed confidence and enthusiasm to continue to drive forward with the ambitions for the borough.

The Leader of the Council announced his Cabinet for the Municipal Years 2012-2015:-

The Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Adult Services and Health - Councillor Beall

The Cabinet Member for Arts, Leisure and Culture - Councillor Dixon The Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Transport - Councillor Smith The Cabinet Member for Children and Young People - Councillor Mrs McCoy The Cabinet Member for Corporate Management and Finance - Councillor Harrington

The Cabinet Member for Housing and Community Safety - Councillor Nelson

The Cabinet Member for Environment - Councillor Rose

The Cabinet Member for Access and Communities - Councillor Coleman

C Meetings of Council 18/12

RESOLVED that meetings of the Council be held at 7.00pm (except where otherwise stated) during the Municipal Year 2012/2013 on the following dates:-

2nd May 2012

13th June 2012

18th July 2012

12th September 2012

17th October 2012

28th November 2012

23rd January 2013

27th February 2013 (Special Budget)

6th March 2013

17th April 2013 (Annual Meeting - 11.00 am)

C To agree the Scheme of Delegation as set out in Part 3 of the Council's 19/12 Constitution

RESOLVED that the Scheme of Delegation as set out in Part 3 of the Council's Constitution be agreed.

C Councillors' Corporate Parenting Pledge 20/12

The Mayor signed her pledge accepting her role as a Corporate Parent. She reminded all Members of their responsibility as a Corporate Parent and encouraged each of them also to sign the pledge, if they had not already done so.

C The Mayor will close the Meeting

21/12

The Mayor closed the meeting and invited guests to the civic reception.