Council

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 7th September, 2011.

Present: Cllr Paul Baker (The Worshipful the Mayor); Cllr Mrs Lynne Apedaile, Cllr Jim Beall, Cllr Derrick Brown, Cllr Mark Chatburn, Cllr Julia Cherrett, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Michael Clark, Cllr David Coleman, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Gillian Corr, Cllr Evaline Cunningham, Cllr Ian Dalgarno, Cllr Phillip Dennis, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Mick Eddy, Cllr Kevin Faulks, Cllr Robert Gibson, Cllr David Harrington, Cllr Miss Barbara Inman, Cllr Mohammed Javed, Cllr Eileen Johnson, Cllr Elliot Kennedy, Cllr Jean Kirby, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Terry Laing, Cllr Miss Tina Large, Cllr Colin Leckonby, Cllr Alan Lewis, Cllr Ken Lupton, Cllr Ray McCall, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Maurice Perry, Cllr Mrs Maureen Rigg, Cllr David Rose, Cllr Andrew Sherris, Cllr Michael Smith, Cllr Andrew Stephenson, Cllr Norma Stephenson, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Tracey Stott, Cllr Steve Walmsley, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr David Wilburn, Cllr Norma Wilburn, Cllr Mrs Mary Womphrey, Cllr Mick Womphrey and Cllr Barry Woodhouse.

Officers: N Schneider (CE); D E Bond, P K Bell, N Hart, S Walton (LD); P Dobson, R Poundford, N Laws (DNS); J Danks, L King (R); J Humphreys (CESC).

Also in attendance: Lieutenant Colonel John Heron (The Rifles), Chris Lawton (Rifles Care for Casualties), I Bannister (Royal British Legion), Ian Forrester (Royal British Legion), Trevor Edgar (Yorkshire Regiment Benevolent Fund); Richard Perrin (Lathe Investments), Tim Cornford (Lathe Investments); Paul Leng (Market Petitioner), Martin Cain (Market Petitioner), Members of the Public.

Apologies: Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Ben Houchen, Cllr Mrs Kath Nelson, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Ross Patterson and Cllr Bill Woodhead.

C Declarations of Interest

74/11

There were no interests declared.

C Honorary Aldermen-Nominations 75/11

Council gave consideration to the appointment of Honorary Aldermen in accordance with Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 a principal Council may, by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of Members voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who had, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to the Council as past Members but who were not current Members of the Council

The Act indicated that service with predecessor Authorities would count as service to be taken into account when conferring the honour.

Stockton on Tees Borough Council, at their meeting on 1st December 1999 (Min 1527 refers), accepted the recommendations of the Civic Sub-Committee held on 7th October 1999, that reckonable service with relevant Councils should be at least 20 years or 15 years including holding a senior office over a long period. In this context it had also been the practice not to count service with the former Cleveland County Council where that service was contemporaneous with service with Stockton on Tees Borough Council or its predecessor authorities.

Nominations had been received in respect of the following nominees, who satisfied the terms of the above criteria:-

Name Known Service Identified

		Total
Jennie Beaumont	1979-2011	32 years
John Fletcher	1987-2011	24 years
Suzanne Fletcher	1981-2011	30 years
Ann Cains 1995-2011 16 year (Chair of Health Select 2001-2005; 2007-2011; Cab Mbr for Health 2006/7; Dep Mayor 2002/3; Mayor 2003/4; Chair of TV Health Scrutiny Cttee 2004/5,9/10; Chair Of Regional Health Scrutiny 2010/11)		16 years

RESOLVED that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillors Mrs Jennie Beaumont, Mrs Ann Cains, John Fletcher and Mrs Suzanne Fletcher and that they and a guest be invited to attend the Meeting of Council on the 19th October 2011 to participate in a ceremony during which the title will be conferred.