CLEVELAND POLICE AUTHORITY EXECUTIVE

The Annual General Meeting of Cleveland Police Authority Executive was held on Thursday 19 March 2009 in the Members Conference Room at Police Headquarters.

PRESENT: Councillor Members

Councillor Caroline Barker, Councillor Barry Coppinger, Councillor Paul Kirton, Councillor Mary Lanigan, Councillor Ron Lowes, Councillor Dave McLuckie, Councillor Hazel Pearson OBE, Councillor Victor Tumilty and Councillor Steve Wallace

Independent Members

Miss Pam Andrews-Mawer, Mr Chris Coombs, Mr Ted Cox JP, Mr Peter Hadfield, Mr Aslam Hanif, Mr Alf Illingworth TD JP and Mr Peter Race MBE

OFFICIALS: Mr Sean Price, Mr Dave Pickard, Mrs Ann Hall and Miss Kate Rowntree (CC) Mr Joe McCarthy and Mrs Julie Leng (CE)

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Mr Mike McGrory JP.

2 DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

There were no declarations of interests.

3 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

Nominations and seconders for the role of Chair and Vice Chair had been submitted to the Chief Executive in accordance with Standing Orders.

The Chief Executive confirmed that he had only received one nomination for the position of Chair and one for the position of Vice Chair. The Chief Executive therefore asked Members to agree to vote by show of hands rather than a secret ballot. This was agreed and Councillor Dave McLuckie was nominated and seconded and unanimously voted as Chair for the forthcoming year. Mr Peter Race MBE was nominated and seconded and unanimously voted as Vice Chair for the forthcoming year.

ORDERED that:-

- 1. Councillor Dave McLuckie be appointed Chair for the ensuing year.
- 2. Mr Peter Race be appointed Vice Chair for the ensuing year.

5

COUNCILLOR MEMBERSHIP AND NOMINATIONS FOR ANSWERING QUESTION AT COUNCIL MEETINGS

The Chief Executive reported the decision that had been made by the Police Authority Joint Committee held on 7 June 2007 regarding the elected membership of the Police Authority. At that Police Joint Committee it was agreed that the Councillor Members from the four Unitary Authorities be elected to serve as Police Authority Members for a period of four years. Therefore there was no change to the elected membership for the Police Authority for the coming year. **ORDERED** that:-

- 1. Members noted that the following Councillors be appointed to the Police Authority to serve their third of four years as agreed by the Police Joint Committee on 7 June 2007:-
 - **Hartlepool** Councillor Caroline Barker, Councillor Victor Tumilty and Councillor Steve Wallace
 - Middlesbrough Councillor Barry Coppinger, Councillor Ron Lowes and Councillor Hazel Pearson OBE
 - **Redcar and Cleveland** Councillor Mary Lanigan and Councillor Dave McLuckie
 - **Stockton** Councillor Paul Kirton
- 2. The above Councillor's be appointed as representatives to answer questions on the discharge of the function of the Police Authority at meetings of their relevant councils be agreed.