AGENDA ITEM 42

REPORT TO COUNCIL

8 JULY 2009

REPORT OF DIRECTOR
OF LAW AND
DEMOCRACY

Amendments to the Committee/Panel Membership

At its Annual Meeting held on Wednesday 1st April 2009 Council approved appointments to its Committees and Panels for the Municipal year 2009/2010.

As a consequence of the result of a recent by election, in the Ingleby Barwick West Ward, it has been necessary to re-calculate political proportionality for certain Committees and for the total number of seats available within the Council as a whole. Following consultation with relevant political groups the changes detailed below are presented for Council approval: -

Planning Committee

Remove - Councillor Mrs Jean O'Donnell

Replacement - Councillor Jean Kirby

Licensing Committee

Remove - Councillor Mrs Ann McCoy

Replacement - Councillor Jean Kirby

Executive Scrutiny Committee

Remove - Councillor John Fletcher

Replacement – Councillor Ken Dixon

Appeals and Complaints Committee

Remove – Councillor Mrs Mary Womphrey

Replacement – Councillor Jean Kirby

Home Safety Association

Remove - Councillor Steve Walmsley

Replacement – Councillor Julia Cherrett

The following changes are not as a result of the re-calculation, following the by election, but reflect requested changes, within a political group:-

Employee Appeals

Remove - Councillor Andrew Larkin

Replacement – Councillor Jean Kirby

Housing and Community Safety Select Committee

Remove - Councillor Kevin Faulks

Replacement - Councillor Jean Kirkby

RECOMMENDED that the above amendments be approved.