Council

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 5th September, 2007.

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor (Cllr Bill Noble), Cllr Hilary Aggio, Cllr Mrs Lynne Apedaile, Cllr Paul Baker, Cllr Jim Beall, Cllr Mrs Jennie Beaumont, Cllr Phillip Broughton, Cllr Mrs Ann Cains, Cllr Dick Cains, Cllr Aidan Cockerill, Cllr David Coleman, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr Mrs Eileen Craggs, Cllr Alex Cunningham, Cllr Ken Dixon, Cllr Mick Eddy, Cllr Kevin Faulks, Cllr John Fletcher, Cllr Mrs Suzanne Fletcher, Cllr Robert Gibson, Cllr David Harrington, Cllr Miss Barbara Inman, Cllr Mohammed Javed, Cllr Paul Kirton, Cllr Terry Laing, Cllr Miss Tina Large, Cllr Colin Leckonby, Cllr Alan Lewis, Cllr Ken Lupton, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr Lee Narroway, Cllr Mrs Kath Nelson, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Mrs Jean O'Donnell, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr Maurice Perry, Cllr Mrs Maureen Rigg, Cllr Roy Rix, Cllr Julia Roberts, Cllr Fred Salt, Cllr Andrew Sherris, Cllr Michael Smith, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Mrs Allison Trainer, Cllr Steve Walmsley, Cllr Mrs Sylvia Walmsley, Cllr Mrs Mary Womphrey, Cllr Mick Womphrey, Cllr William Woodhead and Cllr Barry Woodhouse.

Officers: G Garlick (CE); A Baxter (CESC); D E Bond, P K Bell (LD); N Schneider (DNS); J Danks, H Dean, J Spittle (R).

Also in attendance: F Robinson (Independent Member of the Standards Committee), four members of the public.

Apologies: Cllr Ian Dalgarno, Cllr Jackie Earl, Cllr Maurice Frankland, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Andrew Larkin and Cllr Liz Nesbitt.

C Declarations of Interest

61/07

There were no interests declared.

C Honorary Aldermen - Former Councillor Mrs Joan Wade - Report of the 62/07 Director of Law and Democracy

Council Considered a nomination for former Councillor Mrs Joan Wade to be appointed to the position of Honorary Aldermen in accordance with Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

It was explained that under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 a principal Council may, by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of Members voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who had, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to the Council as past Members but who were not current Members of the Council

The Act indicated that service with predecessor Authorities would count as service to be taken into account when conferring the honour.

Stockton on Tees Borough Council, at their meeting on 29th March 2000 had accepted the recommendations of the Civic sub-Committee that reckonable service with relevant Councils should be at least 20 years or 15 years including holding a senior office over a long period. In this context it had also been the practice not to count service with the former Cleveland County Council where that service was contemporaneous with service with Stockton on Tees Borough Council or its predecessor authorities.

Members were informed of former Councillor Mrs Joan Wade's previous service and noted that it satisfied the necessary criteria.

Name - Cllr Mrs Joan Wade

Known Service - Stockton on Tees Borough Council 1983 - 2007 Identified Total - 24 Years

Councillor Lupton proposed that Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on the former Councillor Mrs Joan Wade and this was seconded by Councillor Mrs Beaumont.

A vote was taken and this was unanimously supported.

RESOLVED that:-

1. The title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillor Mrs Joan Wade.

2. Former Councillor Mrs Joan Wade and her guest be invited to attend the Meeting of Council on the 17th October 2007 to participate in a ceremony during which the title will be conferred.