Police Joint Committee 7 June 2007

POLICE JOINT COMMITTEE

A meeting of the Police joint Committee was held on 7 June 2007.

PRESENT: Representing Hartlepool Borough Council

Councillors A Preece, L Southeran and S Wallace

Representing Middlesbrough Council

Councillors B Coppinger, J Ismail, Mrs Hazel Pearson, OBE,

(substitute for Councillor T Ward) and P Thompson

Representing Redcar & Cleveland Borough Council

Councillors J Benbow, B Briggs (substitute for Councillor I Jeffrey)

and D McLuckie

Representing Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council

Councillors D Coleman, J Fletcher, K Lupton and M Stoker

OFFICIALS: M Braithwaite and R G Long (Middlesbrough Council)

** **APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE** were submitted on behalf of Councillors V Halton and I Jeffrey (Redcar and Cleveland Council) and T Ward (Middlesbrough Council)

Also in attendance: Councillors J Brunton, R Lowes (Middlesbrough Council) and

C Coombes, J Leng and J McCarthy (Cleveland Police Authority)

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR

ORDERED that Councillor S Wallace be appointed Chair.

Councillor Wallace in the Chair

** DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest for this meeting.

CLEVELAND POLICE AUTHORITY

The Joint Committee received a report by Middlesbrough Council's Director of Legal and Democratic Services requesting the appointment of nine Members from the four local authorities in the force area to serve on the Cleveland Police Authority.

The Director outlined the options available to Members in making appointment to the nine places based upon the requirements set out in the Criminal Justice and Police Act 2001 and joint guidance produced by the Local Government Association (LGA) and Association of Police Authorities (APA).

The submitted report referred to advice issued by the LGA and APA in relation to the appointment and selection of police authority members and included a job profile and summary of the statutory duties and responsibilities required of police authority members. The Joint Committee was also made aware of guidance relating to the appointment of independent councillors who were not members of any political party.

Paragraphs 6 –10 of the report detailed the political make up of each council and provided two options for consideration in regard to the allocation of seats based on calculations which reflected the political balance of all four councils taken as a whole. A correction was made to the figures referred to in paragraph 9 of the report increasing the total number of independent members from 27 to 29 and to a decrease in the percentage allocation for the Liberal Democrats from .40 to .31, paragraph 10 refers. The change did not however affect the overall allocation of seats.

7 June 2007 Police Joint Committee

Members were requested to determine whether to accept one of the following options and to determine whether the appointments made should be for a period of one or four years.

Option 1 – Allocation based upon the strength of the parties would take account of six of the nine places. The remaining three places would then be allocated to independent councillors:

Labour – 4 seats Conservatives – 1 seat Liberal Democrats 1 seat Independents – 3 seats

Adoption of option 1 would provide for appointments to be made across the authorities as follows:

4 Labour 1 from each authority

1 Conservative to be chosen by the committee from all the Conservatives across the

4 boroughs.

1 Liberal Democrat to be chosen by the committee from all the Liberal Democrats across

the 4 boroughs.

3 Independents to be chosen from the following councillor nominations submitted

(Appendix 2 to the report).

Councillor V Tumilty (Hartlepool Council)
Councillor M Plant (Hartlepool Council)

Councillor M Lanigan (Redcar and Cleveland Council)

Councillor R Lowes (Middlesbrough Council)
Councillor P Cox (Middlesbrough Council)

 $\underline{\text{Option 2}}$ – Allocation based upon the relative strength of the independent councillors as if they were a political party (i.e. 13.67%) providing 1.14 seats, rounded down to 1 seat.

Labour – 4 seats Conservatives 1 seat Liberal Democrats 1 seat Independents – 1 seat

The remaining 2 seats would then be allocated to the Conservatives (.44) and Liberal Democrats (.31) giving an overall total of:

Labour – 4 seats Conservatives – 2 seats Liberal Democrats – 2 seats Independents – 1 seat

Adoption of option 2 would provide for appointments to be made across the authorities as follows:

4 Labour 1 from each authority

2 Conservatives 1 from Middlesbrough and 1 from Stockton on Tees

2 Liberal Democrats 1 from Hartlepool and 1 from Redcar and Cleveland.

1 Independent to be chosen from the 6 councillor nominations submitted as detailed

above (Appendix 2 to the report).

Following further discussion and on votes being taken it was

ORDERED as follows:

Police Joint Committee 7 June 2007

- 1. That option 1 be adopted.
- 2. That appointments be for a 4 year term of office.

3. That the following Members be appointed to serve on the Cleveland Police Authority for a four year term:

Labour

Councillor S Wallace (Hartlepool Council)

Councillor B Coppinger (Middlesbrough Council)

Councillor D McLuckie (Redcar and Cleveland Council)

Councillor P Kirton (Stockton Council)

Conservative

Councillor H Pearson (Middlesbrough Council)

Liberal Democrat

Councillor C Barker (Hartlepool Council)

<u>Independent</u>

Councillor R Lowes (Middlesbrough Council)

Councillor M Lanigan (Redcar and Cleveland Council)

Councillor V Tumilty (Hartlepool Council)