Council

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday, 6th September, 2006.

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor Cllr Mrs S Fletcher, Cllr Mrs J L Apedaile, Cllr P Baker, Cllr Mrs J Beaumont, Cllr D T Brown, Cllr D Cains, Cllr Mrs P A Cains, Cllr M Cherrett, Cllr D Coleman, Cllr B Cook, Cllr C Coombs, Cllr A Cunningham, Cllr I J Dalgarno, Cllr K Dixon, Cllr J A Fletcher, Cllr M Frankland, Cllr R Gibson, Cllr D Harrington, Cllr Miss B Inman, Cllr E Johnson, Cllr B Jones, Cllr P Kirton, Cllr T Laing, Cllr C Leckonby, Cllr K Leonard, Cllr L Narroway, Cllr Mrs K F Nelson, Cllr S Nelson, Cllr Mrs E A Nesbitt, Cllr W Noble, Cllr Mrs A Norton, Cllr Mrs J O'Donnell, Cllr R Patterson, Cllr M Perry, Cllr Mrs M Rigg, Cllr R Rix, Cllr J M Roberts, Cllr Mrs B Robinson, Cllr F G Salt, Cllr A B L Sherris, Cllr M Smith, Cllr M Stoker, Cllr S F Walmsley, Cllr Mrs M B Womphrey, Cllr M E Womphrey, Cllr B Woodhouse

Officers: G. Garlick (CE); D. E. Bond, M. Henderson, S. Johnson (LD); J. Danks(R); A. Baxter (CESC), N. Schneider (DNS)

Also in attendance: Not applicable

Apologies: Cllr. K. Dewison, Cllr K. Faulks, Cllr A. Larkin, Cllr K. Lupton, Cllr J. Lynch, Cllr S. Parry, Cllr N. Teasdale, Cllr Mrs A. Trainer and Cllr J. Wade

488 Honorary Aldermen-Report of Director of Law & Democracy

Council considered a nomination for former Councillor Mrs Ann McCoy to be appointed to the position of Honary Alderman in accordance with Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

It was explained that under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 a principal Council could, by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of Members voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who had, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to the Council as past Members, but who were not at that time Members of the Council

The Act indicated that service with predecessor Authorities would count as service to be taken into account when conferring the honour.

Stockton on Tees Borough Council, at its meeting on 29th March 2000 accepted the recommendations of the Civic Sub-Committee that reckonable service with relevant Councils should be at least 20 years, or 15 years including holding a senior office over a long period. In this context it had also been the practice not to count service with the former Cleveland County Council where that service was contemporaneous with service with Stockton on Tees Borough Council or its predecessor authorities.

Members were informed of former Councillor Mrs McCoy's previous service and noted that it satisfied the necessary criteria.

Name Known Service Identified Total

Cllr Mrs McCoy Stockton on Tees BC 18 years

1987 - 2005 including the following senior positions since 1993:-Chair of Corporate Resources Board: Chair

of Executive Scrutiny Committee; Cabinet Member for Social Services and Health.

Councillor Gibson proposed that the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Mrs McCoy and this was seconded by Councillor Coleman.

A vote was taken and the proposal was unanimously supported.

RESOLVED that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillor Mrs McCoy and that she, and her guest, be invited to attend the Meeting of Council, on 18th October 2006, to participate in a ceremony during which the title would be conferred.