STOCKTON-ON-TEES BOROUGH COUNCIL

CABINET RECOMMENDATIONS

PROFORMA

Cabinet Meeting19th April 2012

1. <u>Title of Item/Report</u>

LA Nominations

2. <u>Record of the Decision</u>

In accordance with the procedure for the appointment of school governors, approved at Minute 84 of the Cabinet (11th May 2000), Cabinet were requested to approve the nomination to school Governing Body as detailed within the report.

RESOLVED that appointment be made to the vacant Governorship subject to successful List 99 check and Personal Disclosure, as follows:-

Bader Primary School – Mr Allan Fishpool Barley Fields Primary School – Mrs L Davidson Fairfield Primary School – Mrs W Spurr Frederick Nattrass Primary School – Cllr Steve Nelson Layfield Primary School – Jane Wright Mill Lane Primary School – Cllr D Coleman Preston Primary School – Mrs K Stockley Rosebrook Primary School – Mrs J Appleby, Cllr J Beall, Mrs A Cains The Glebe Primary School – Mr J Brodie Wolviston Primary School – Mr Graham Thirlaway

3. <u>Reasons for the Decision</u>

As a result of the expiry of current Governors terms of office and resignations, a vacancy exists on the Governing Bodies detailed in the Appendix to the report. Under powers vested in them by paragraph 79 of the 1996 Education Act, the Local Authority had a duty to appoint representatives to serve as Governors on the Governing Bodies of all Schools maintained by them.

4. <u>Alternative Options Considered and Rejected</u>

None

5. Declared (Cabinet Member) Conflicts of Interest

Councillors Coleman and Nelson declared personal, non-prejudicial interests in respect of this item as a result of their nomination to Frederick Nattrass and Mill Lane Primary Schools respectively.

6. <u>Details of any Dispensations</u>

Not Applicable

7. Date and Time by which Call In must be executed

Midnight on Friday 27 April 2012

Proper Officer 30 April 2012